Deleting Imessages

admin
  1. Control where iMessages appear by going to Settings Messages Send & Receive. Uncheck phone numbers and email addresses. Add a new iMessage email by logging in to Apple ID and selecting Edit. Go to Reachable At and select Add More. Remove or add phone numbers to FaceTime in the same way, but go to Settings FaceTime instead of Messages.
  2. To delete an individual message or attachment, follow these steps: Open a message conversation. Control-click the blank area of a message bubble that you want to delete.
  3. The Apple ID for iMessage must match the Apple ID you use for all other iCloud services (like iCloud Drive, Photos, Mail, and so forth) for this feature to work! How to Delete Texts and iMessages on Your Mac, including Multiple Messages. Launch the Messages app; Locate the conversation where you want to delete a message(s).

In fact, even if you delete a message while it’s in the processing of “Sending” you’re only removing your local copy on that particular device; the message itself will still get sent, and even appear on other devices that you have enabled for your iMessage account, such as a Mac or iPad.

How to delete messages on iPhone? Read this guide to get a quick way to delete deleted messages on iPhone 11/Xs/Xr/X/8/7/6s.

iPhone Message Tips & Issues

iPhone Message Tips
iPhone Message Problems
iMessages Tips & Issues

Question: When I go to Settings > General > iPhone Storage > I see that I have 3.2GB of messages stored. Can someone tell me how to delete those messages? I don’t even know where all of these messages could be stored. I have no need to save any text messages…Please someone help me because I have searched everywhere and asked everyone I can think of and no one has any idea how to help me…

– Angoli from Apple Support Communities

Analysis: Many users are stuck on the same situation as the above user. When they check the Usage of their iPhone, they find the Messages takes up to 3-4 GB space, even up to dozens of GBs. They don’t know how to delete them, and even don’t know where these saved messages are stored.

This potentially frustrating behavior is the result of an intricacy of how the iPhone deletes data. When you delete some data or files from your iPhone, actually those data or files are not deleted. They are just marked with a deletion by the operating system, and hidden so that you can’t see them any more. That’s why the deleted messages takes up so much storage space on the iPhone.

Solutions: How to delete deleted messages on iPhone 12/11/Xs/Xr/X/8/7/6s completely? The most common way experts will suggest is to reset all data on iPhone: Just go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings to make it. You will also need to delete backups that you have created as well in iTunes or iCloud. But in this way, other data will also be removed. So is there a way that can only delete messages on iPhone? Yes, PhoneClean is the answer.

Can’t Miss: How to Retrieve Deleted Text Messages from iPhone iPad >

What Is PhoneClean

PhoneClean is a powerful iOS cleaning tool that can help users remove all kinds of junk files on iPhone iPad including messages. It can help you find all the existed and deleted messages on your device. You can delete all the messages at once, or preview and then select the messages you want to remove. Now download PhoneClean and follow the steps below to permanently delete text messages on iPhone 11/11 Pro(Max)/Xs/Xr/X/8/7/6s or new iPhone 12.

You May Like: How to Export Messages from iPhone to Computer >

How to Delete Text Messages on iPhone Permanently

Step 1. Run PhoneClean on your computer (Mac or PC) > Connect your iPhone to computer. Click Privacy Clean, and start scanning your iPhone.

How to Delete Messages on iPhone

Step 2. After the scan is over, double click Sensitive Data to view the saved messages on your iPhone. Choose the conversations you want to delete, and then back to the result page.

Step 3. Click the Clean button to completely remove messages on iPhone. You can also click Secure Cleanup to find and remove the deleted but still existed messages on your iPhone.

Deleting

How to Delete Deleted Messages on iPhone

– When removing junk files or personal info from iPhone/iPad/iPod touch with PhoneClean, it will back up your device firstly so that you can restore it any appointed backup time.

– In order to get more free space on your iPhone, you can select all things you want to delete and also perform a Quick Clean at the same time.

– This tutorial also can be applied to delete iMessages on iPhone iPad and iPod touch.

Also Read: Why Other Takes So Much Space on iPhone >

If you are also a Mac user, you may want to know how to clean up the junk files from your Mac for free. Now you can try the safe & free cleaning tool MacClean to achieve this goal.

Deleting Imessage Texts

The Bottom Line

As you can see, it is easy to permanently delete messages on iPhone 12/11/Xs/Xr/X/8/7/6s. No matter you want to delete, SMS messages, MMS messages, iMesages or messages attachments on iPhone, PhoneClean can help you make it with a few clicks. More than anything, PhoneClean is an expert at free up space on iDevice especially when you can’t upgrade to the latest iOS operating system due to insufficient free space. Why Not Download iMobie PhoneClean to Try It Now >

Product-related questions? Contact Our Support Team to Get Quick Solution >

Here's how it works

Messages in iCloud are updated automatically, so you always have the same view everywhere you use iMessage. When you delete a message, photo, or conversation on one device, it’s removed from all of your devices. And since all of your attachments are stored in iCloud, you can save space on your device.

You can use Messages in iCloud on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, and Mac. For your privacy, Messages in iCloud is end-to-end encrypted,* which means you can't view or access Messages online via browser.

* Learn more about iCloud security.

Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. These cookies ensure basic functionalities and security features of the website, anonymously.CookieDurationDescriptioncookielawinfo-checbox-analytics11 monthsThis cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. But opting out of some of these cookies may affect your browsing experience. Pixinsight

Turn on Messages in iCloud

To turn on Messages in iCloud, make sure that you've set up iCloud and are signed in with the same Apple ID on all your devices. You also need to use two-factor authentication with your Apple ID, and turn on iCloud Keychain.

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap [your name].
  3. Tap iCloud.
  4. Turn on Messages.

On your Mac

Deleting Imessages

Deleting Imessages From Mac

  1. Open Messages.
  2. In the menu bar, choose Messages > Preferences.
  3. Click iMessage.
  4. Select the checkbox next to Enable Messages in iCloud.

Turn off Messages in iCloud

When you turn off Messages on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, you can choose to turn off Messages in iCloud for just that device or all of your devices. Any device where Messages in iCloud is still turned on continues to store what you send and receive from that device in iCloud.

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap [your name] > iCloud.
  3. Turn off Messages.

On your Mac

Can You Delete An Imessage

  1. Open Messages.
  2. In the menu bar, choose Messages > Preferences.
  3. Click iMessage.
  4. Deselect the checkbox next to Enable Messages in iCloud.

If you turn off Messages in iCloud on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch your message history will be included in a separate iCloud backup. If you set up an Apple Watch for a family member, Messages in iCloud is the only way to back up messages.

Deleting Imessages

Make the most of Messages

Deleting Messages On Whatsapp

  • Learn how to use Messages on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  • Personalize your messages with Digital Touch, iMessage apps, and message effects.
  • Send photos, videos, or audio messages and group messages.
  • Learn how to use Messages on your Mac.